Talasani and surroundings


The village

Talasani could be described as a fairly typical Castagniccia village. In the mountains, within sight of the sea, and enjoying a mild microclimate, it is pleasant all year round.

It has a baroque church and some interesting historical connections, but its main assets are its peace and quiet and magnificent scenery which surrounds it.

That peace and quiet is disturbed at least once a year, for a week in late summer, when Talasani forms the centre of the Settembrinu music festival.

Talasani Talasani Talasani: l'Eglise de St.Lucie Talasani: Fontaine Di Pientone Talasani: Piazza Romani Talasani Talasani Talasani: Fontaine San Rocco Talasani Talasani Talasani


History

Talasani belongs to the piève Tavagna, which was occupied by the Turks in 1541 and burned by the Genoese in 1565.

Luigi Giafferi (1668-1748) It was the birthplace of Luiggi Giafferi (1668-1748), fighter for Corsican independence alongside Ghjacintu Paoli (the father of Pascal Paoli), elected Général de la Nation in 1730, and Prime Minister under King Theodore.

It was also the birthplace of at least two poets: Gian Paolo Borghetti (1816-1897) and Petru Borghetti (1894-1927).


Situation

Talasani (altitude 330m.) lies at the top of a green and peaceful valley stretching four kilometres down to the sea and filled with chestnut trees and evergreen cork oaks. Because the surrounding hills protect the valley from most winds, it enjoys a microclimate where the temperature generally remains mild even in the depths of winter.

Signposted paths allow easy exploration of the area, but even the roads between Talsani and the surrounding villages are quiet enough to make walking a pleasant experience. You're quite likely to meet goats and cows on the road, but if you're very lucky you may even see a wild boar: there are plenty of them in the valley, even if they are a bit shy.

Talasani L'église de St.Jean Baptiste Some of the local residents


La Castagniccia

La Castagniccia, Corsica's chestnut-growing region, deserves its reputation as the greenest part of the island. It was for centuries also the most prosperous and highly populated part. All that's changed now, but the area has been left with a rich historical and cultural heritage. Narrow roads and donkey tracks connect innumerable picturesque mountain villages, most of them containing baroque churches and offering magnificent views down towards the Costa Verde.

La Castagniccia La Castagniccia La Castagniccia La Castagniccia


Local places of interest

Cascade de l'Ucelluline (12 km)

The road between San-Nicolao and Santa-Maria-Poghju passes through some of the most dramatic scenery in this part of the island. Two tunnels and a high stone bridge take you past the waterfall of l'Ucelluline, a wonderful place to cool off on a hot summer's day.

Cascade de l'Ucelluline Cascade de l'Ucelluline Cascade de l'Ucelluline Cascade de l'Ucelluline

A Porta (25 km)

The most interesting feature of this picturesque mountain village (once capital of the Castagniccia region) is the 17th. Century parish church, with its baroque façade and its amazing church tower dating from 1720.

A Porta A Porta A Porta

Penta di Casinca (19 km)

Classified since 1973 as "Site Pittoresque du Département de la Corse", the historic mountain village of Penta di Casinca is renowned for its well-preserved architecture, its panoramic views, and its parish church with square bell tower dating from 1695.

For more information visit the official site.

Penta di Casinca Penta di Casinca Penta di Casinca Penta di Casinca

Orezza (30 km)

The Orezza thermal waters with their rich iron content have been appreciated since Roman times, and in the 19th. century health establishments were set up and Orezza became a popular spa resort.

Today the water is bottled and exported throughout the world. The Orezza site, open to the public, is a beautiful example of 19th. century industrial architecture, set in the midst of the Castagniccia chestnut forest.

For more information visit the official site.

Orezza Orezza Orezza Orezza Orezza

The A.D.E.C.E.C. museum (20 km)

The A.D.E.C.E.C. museum at Cervione, housed in the old seminary and palace of the bishops of Aleria, offers mainly information on Corsican archaeology, history, ethnography, culture and religious art.

For more information visit the official site.

The A.D.E.C.E.C. museum The A.D.E.C.E.C. museum The A.D.E.C.E.C. museum

Pascal Paoli Museum (36 km)

The Musée départmental Pascal Paoli in Merusaglia (Morosaglia) is devoted to Pascal Paoli (1725-1807), the leader of Corsica during its period of independence in the 18th. century, and probably the world's best-known Corsican (except for a certain Monsieur Bonaparte, perhaps). Situated in the house of his birth, it also contains his remains, moved here from Westminster Abbey, London, in 1889.

The museum doesn't have a web site, but you should be able to find all necessary practical information here and here.



Beaches

Figaretto (8 km)

Our nearest beach. It's sandy, and doesn't get too crowded even in summer.

Figaretto Figaretto

Linguizzetta (30 km)

At more than 4 kilometers long, it's one of Europe's longest naturist beaches.

Linguizzetta Linguizzetta

Bravone (30 km)

Unusually for this part of Corsica, the coast at Bravone is rocky, with lots of small coves and beaches.

Bravone Bravone


Walking

Only 250 years ago there were hardly any roads in Corsica - travel was either along the coast by boat, or by horse, mule and donkey over a network of tracks going from village to village. Many of these old tracks now allow visitors a wonderful opportunity to discover Corsica on foot, avoiding most modern roads and traffic. The area around Maison Borghetti is no exception, and many signposted paths connect Talasani with the surrounding villages.

As well as the official paths, we can show you plenty of other local walks which are well worth doing. Large-scale IGN maps of the area are available on request.

Walks around Talasani - click for a more detailed map

Some of our favorite walks are…


Restaurants

There is a restaurant within walking distance of Maison Borghetti (1,5 km.), open every day during the summer but only on Thursday to Sunday out of season, and in summer another one in the village (every day, five minutes walk). There are also restaurants at Moriani Plage (8km.) and Folelli (9km.).


Distances to facilities

Sea 8 km. Figaretto
Tennis 8 km. Tennis Club de la Costa Verde,
Moriani Plage
20230 San Nicolao,
téléphone : 0495 38 55 10,
mail: tc.costaverde@cegetel.net
Horse-riding 8 km. Les Ecuries de la Costa Verde
Moriani Plage
Walking 0 km. click for more information
River 4,5 km. Pont de l'Enfer
Swimming pool 43 km. PISCINE DU FANGO
Avenue Jean Zuccarelli
20200 BASTIA
téléphone : 0495 32 42 15

PISCINE LA CARBONITE
Route front mer
20600 BASTIA
téléphone : 0495 33 56 62

Golf 26 km. Bastia Golf Club
Station 20 km. Casamozza
Shops 9 km. Folelli, Moriani Plage

Talasani et environs


Le village

Talasani peut être décrit comme un village typique de la Castagniccia, sur les hauteurs, à portée de vue de la mer, bénéficiant d'un micro climat doux et agréable tout au long de l'année.

Talasani possède une église baroque et quelques évènements historiques s'y déroulèrent mais son attrait principal réside dans le décor paisible, tranquille et magnifique qui l'entoure.

Le calme et la tranquillité sont toutefois troublés une fois par an, pendant une semaine à la fin de l'été, quand Talasani devient le centre du festival de musique Settembrinu.

Talasani Talasani Talasani: l'Eglise de St.Lucie Talasani: Fontaine Di Pientone Talasani: Piazza Romani Talasani Talasani Talasani: Fontaine San Rocco Talasani Talasani Talasani


Histoire

Talasani appartient à la piève (ancienne paroisse) de Tavagna, qui fut occupée par les Turcs en 1541 et incendiée par les Génois en 1565.

Luigi Giafferi (1668-1748) Lieu de naissance de Luiggi Giafferi (1668-1748), combattant pour l'indépendance de la Corse aux côtés de Ghjacintu Paoli (le père de Pascal Paoli), élu général de la nation en 1730, et premier ministre du Roi Théodore.

C'est aussi le lieu de naissance de deux poètes: Gian Paolo Borghetti (1816-1897) et Petru Borghetti (1894-1927).


Situation

Talasani (altitude 330 m) est situé en haut d'une vallée verdoyante et paisible, couverte de châtaigniers et chênes liège, s'étirant jusqu'à la mer quatre kilomètres plus bas. Les montagnes environnantes protègent la vallée des vents dominants, créant ainsi un microclimat agréablement tempéré même en plein hiver.

Les sentiers balisés permettent une découverte facile de la région, mais même les routes entre Talasani et les villages environnants sont assez tranquilles pour faire de la marche à pied sans être franchement dérangé par la circulation. Vous pourrez souvent rencontrer des vaches et des chèvres sur la route, et si vous êtes très chanceux vous pourrez peut être croiser un sanglier sauvage. Il y en a de nombreux dans la vallée mais ils sont plutôt craintifs.

Talasani L'église de St.Jean Baptiste Quelques résidents


La Castagniccia

La Castagniccia, la terre du châtaignier, a la réputation d'être la région la plus verte de l'île. Elle a été pendant des siècles la région la plus riche et la plus peuplée. Tout est changé aujourd'hui, mais la région a gardé un riche héritage historique et culturel. Des routes étroites et des chemins muletiers relient entre eux d'innombrables villages de montagne, dont la plupart sont dotés d'églises baroques et offrent des vues plongeantes sur la Costa Verde.

La Castagniccia La Castagniccia La Castagniccia La Castagniccia


Centres d'intérêt locaux

Cascade de l'Ucelluline (12 km)

La route entre San Nicolao et Santa Maria Poggio passe à travers l'un des paysage les plus spectaculaire de cette partie de l'île. Deux tunnels et un pont de pierre vous conduisent à la Cascade de l'Ucelluline, un merveilleux site pour se rafraîchir pendant les canicules d'été.

Cascade de l'Ucelluline Cascade de l'Ucelluline Cascade de l'Ucelluline Cascade de l'Ucelluline

A Porta (25 km)

Le centre d'intérêt de ce village de montagne pittoresque (autrefois capitale de la Castagniccia) est son église paroissiale, avec sa façade baroque et son curieux clocher datant de 1720.

A Porta A Porta A Porta

Penta di Casinca (19 km)

Classé depuis 1973 comme "Site pittoresque du Département de la Corse", l'ancien village de montagne de Penta di Casinca est renommé pour son architecture préservée, sa vue panoramique et son église paroissiale avec son clocher carré datant de 1695.

pour plus d'information visiter le site officiel

Penta di Casinca Penta di Casinca Penta di Casinca Penta di Casinca

Orezza (30 km)

Sous l'antiquité déjà, les Romains appréciaient les qualités de l'eau ferrugineuse d'Orezza. Les bâtiments de cure seront construits aux XIXème siècle et Orezza devient une station thermale renommée.

Aujourd'hui, l'eau est mise en bouteiles et exportée dans le monde entier. Le site d'Orezza est ouvert au public, c'est un bel exemple de l'architecture industrielle du 19ème siècle, installé au milieu de la Castagniccia, la forêt de châtaignier.

pour plus d'information visiter le site officiel

Orezza Orezza Orezza Orezza Orezza

Le musée de l'ADECEC (20 km)

Le musée de l'ADECEC à Cervione, situé dans l'ancien séminaire et palais des évêques d'Aléria, propose principalement des informations sur l'archéologie corse, l'histoire, l'éthnographie, la culture et l'art religieux.

pour plus d'information visiter le site officiel

Le musée de l'ADECEC Le musée de l'ADECEC Le musée de l'ADECEC

Musée Pascal Paoli (36 km)

Le musée départemental de Pascal Paoli à Merusaglia (Morosaglia) est consacré à Pascal Paoli (1725-1807), le chef de la Corse pendant sa période d'indépendance, et probablement le plus connu des corses (exception faite d'un certain Monsieur Napoléon Bonaparte, peut-être). Situé dans sa maison natale, il contient aussi ses cendres, transferées depuis l'abbaye de Westminster à Londres en 1889.

Le musée n'a pas de site web, mais vous pourrez trouver toutes les informations pratiques necéssaires ici et ici.



Plages

Figaretto (8 km)

La plage la plus proche. C'est une plage de sable et elle n'est pas trop frequentée en été.

Figaretto Figaretto

Linguizzetta (30 km)

S'étalant sur plus de 4 kilomètres, c'est une des plages naturistes la plus longue d'Europe.

Linguizzetta Linguizzetta

Bravone (30 km)

Exceptionnellement pour cette partie de la Corse, la côte à Bravone est rocheuse, avec beaucoup de petites criques et plages.

Bravone Bravone


Balades

Il y a seulement 250 ans on trouvait peu de routes en Corse. Les déplacements se faisaient par bateau le long de la côte ou à cheval, mule ou âne sur un réseau de sentiers allant de village en village. Beaucoup de ces vieux sentiers offrent aujourd'hui aux visiteurs une magnifique opportunité de découvrir la Corse à pied, évitant ainsi les routes modernes et leur trafic automobile. Les environs de la Maison Borghetti ne font pas exception et beaucoup de sentiers balisés relient Talasani aux autres villages.

En dehors des circuits balisés, nous pouvons vous indiquer bien d'autres balades locales des plus agréables. Des cartes IGN Top 25 sont disponibles sur simple demande.

Balades autour de Talasani - cliquer pour une carte plus détaillée

Quelques unes de nos balades favorites sont...


Restaurants

Il y a un restaurant accessible à pied à partir de la Maison Borghetti (1,5 km.), ouvert tous les jours l'été mais seulement le jeudi jusqu'au dimanche hors saison, et pendant l'été un deuxième dans le village (tous les jours, cinq minutes à pied). D'autres restaurants à Moriani Plage (8 km) et Folelli (9 km).


Services et loisirs

Mer 8 km. Figaretto
Tennis 8 km. Tennis Club de la Costa Verde,
Moriani Plage
20230 San Nicolao,
téléphone : 0495 38 55 10,
mail: tc.costaverde@cegetel.net
Equitation 8 km. Les Ecuries de la Costa Verde
Moriani Plage
Randonnée pédestre 0 km. cliquer pour plus d'information
Rivière 4,5 km. Pont de l'Enfer
Piscine 43 km. PISCINE DU FANGO
Avenue Jean Zuccarelli
20200 BASTIA
téléphone : 0495 32 42 15

PISCINE LA CARBONITE
Route front mer
20600 BASTIA
téléphone : 0495 33 56 62

Golf 26 km. Bastia Golf Club
Gare 20 km. Casamozza
Commerces 9 km. Folelli, Moriani Plage